Fly Fishing Goals – Practice like a Casting Instructor

5 Mar

Ok, so one of my fly fishing goals is to practice my casting over the next year.  In order to give some structure to my practice and give me some appropriate goals to work toward, I will use the criteria laid out in the Certified Casting Instructor evaluation.

The Federation of Fly Fishers (FFF) has laid out some criteria and an examination format to establish a baseline for casting instruction.  There are two single handed levels, Certified Casting Instructor, and Master Casting Instructor.  There is also a two handed certification.  If you are already awesome at casting and teaching, there are also opportunities to challenge the material.

For my practice sessions I have downloaded the free Casting Instructor Performance Test form. The form lays out exactly the tasks you must complete and how you would be graded in each task.  This is perfect for me to use as a template for practicing.  It is an interesting list of tasks with accuracy tests, reach casts, distance tasks, and at all times the quality of loops is crucial.

There are plenty of online materials that are designed to help explain the casting tasks, as well as prepare for the other aspects of the test.  Sexyloops has some amazing posts on the material for both the certified and master casting tests.

As for me, I don’t think I will try to do the test this year.  I have located a casting instructor locally (with this handy tool), and I will contact him to see if he is available for a session or two.  But for the most part I will be using the video camera, and lots of practice to try to improve my casting. If I run into great difficulties I am sure I can find some help in online fly casting tutorials or leaning on some of the great casters who are reachable online.

Take a look at the Certified Casting Instructor evaluation. What would be the most challenging part for you?

Leave a Reply

Paul Sellers' Blog

– A Lifestyle Woodworker –

thegrizzlybeard.wordpress.com/

this is your life. it is short. do what you love.

The TopWater Bite

Your Source For Everything About Top Water Fishing And More

The Ozark Fly Fisher Journal

The Online Journal of A Fly Shop & its Inhabitants on the White River, AR

Steve Galea Outdoors

My view from the Haliburton Highlands.

montanaflygirl

The fishing and life adventures of Tracy Moore

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

the limp cobra

fishing through the lens

FrankenFly

Where fly tying comes to life!

