Fly Casting Practice – The Fly Casting Olympics in your own Backyard

12 Mar

So you have a fly rod, and a backyard or public park, and you think shaking off some of the winter rust would be a good idea before the season opening weekend.  The trouble is that standing in the park waving a rod looks stupid, and is boring.

Well it was boring for me, and it looks, ummm, interesting for people walking by .  Some watch for a minute or two and some folks have really good valid questions.  But then there are the folks who just can’t resist. ‘You catching anything?’ ‘What fly are you using?’ ‘Well the guy here yesterday caught a huge rainbow over in that corner of the field….’

Those guys are hilarious.  I often offer the rod to them, so they can try it out.  To this day I have only had one taker.

I found these casting games last year on the Federation of Fly Fishers website.  The Smart Casts (TM)  Casting Challenge Course by David Lambert.  It is a fun way to add a bit of variety to casting practice sessions.

I have figured out a way to set up one set of pylons, not hoops, and then do the fireworks, hotseat and longshot portions of the challenge simply by changing my position around the pylons.  I just set the pylons up as they do for the fireworks event and move around those. Oh I don’t bring a chair to the park, for the hot seat I just take a knee.

I don’t keep score, but I do pay close attention to which presentations are the toughest and how the wind can play with my accuracy.  It allows me to know which shots I can make on the river and pick better casting positions.

Try it out.  Pick up some hoops or cones, or go whole hog and build the casting ladder and invite your buddies from your local club.  It is fun, and a great way to loosen up from a long winter away from the river.

4 Responses to “Fly Casting Practice – The Fly Casting Olympics in your own Backyard”

  1. stevegalea6953 March 16, 2013 at 5:27 PM #

    Very cool post. Excellent site.Really good stuff. I think once the snow is down I’ll set up my own version of a fly casting course. It’s a fantastic idea.

    • hydroflynamic March 16, 2013 at 6:56 PM #

      Thanks. I appreciate the compliments. A few pylons of hoops really helps to channel your attention, and really casting to dandelions or leaves just isn’t as fun.

      • stevegalea6953 March 16, 2013 at 7:07 PM #

        I used to do something similar when I was a kid. Laid down my sisters hula hoops on the grass or tried to land pieces of wool on cats that were lazing on the sidewalk. Once you got that wool near or, better still, wrapped around their tail, they could take you right into the backing…

  2. adamroy234 March 25, 2013 at 2:28 PM #

    Practice makes perfect

Leave a Reply

Paul Sellers' Blog

– A Lifestyle Woodworker –

thegrizzlybeard.wordpress.com/

this is your life. it is short. do what you love.

The TopWater Bite

Your Source For Everything About Top Water Fishing And More

The Ozark Fly Fisher Journal

The Online Journal of A Fly Shop & its Inhabitants on the White River, AR

Steve Galea Outdoors

My view from the Haliburton Highlands.

montanaflygirl

The fishing and life adventures of Tracy Moore

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

the limp cobra

fly fishing through the lens

FrankenFly

Where fly tying comes to life!

