Some Required Reading – A.K. Best and John Gierach

17 Mar

I haven’t read many books about fly fishing. It is habit I am just starting to form. I take the bus to work, and have been for four months now, so I actually have time to read. I just couldn’t seem to work reading books into my life until now.

Standing in a river waving a stick john gierachAdvenced fly tying A.K. Best

As I have mentioned in a previous post, first I read Advanced Fly Tying by A.K. Best. As a follow-up I am reading Standing In a River Waving a Stick by John Gierach.

I came across each book in different ways. The Gierach book I sought out after reading a post by Lous Cahill of Gink and Gasoline fame. Louis referred to Gierach as life changing in a post and I figured if a guy who writes like Louis endorses an author, he is probably worth reading.

The A.K. Best book I sought out to improve my fly tying. I had seen Producti0n Fly Tying before but hadn’t read it, so I was looking for that but availability issues made the choice of the Advanced Fly Tying book instead.

Here is what really makes these two books more interesting… John and A.K. know each other, and they are fishing buddies. And the reading these two books together actually gives you a better understanding of these two characters.

I read Advanced Fly Tying first. While I could clearly read both the text and sub text of A.K.’s methodology, theories and possible complusions regarding fly tying and fishing, it wasn’t until I read a few chapters in Gierach’s book that actually realized how amusing it must be to know someone so devoted and particular when it comes to fly fishing .

Gierachs writing style is earthy and easy to read. He puts just enough detail in the stories that you can picture yourself in the room, by the pond, or at the truck warming up with him and his buddies over a cup of coffee.

The stories are entertaining and can be informative if you pay attention. Things like cast there, use this fly in the spring, or fish a certain way in such and such type of weather are interlaced with the laughs and chuckles. I am tempted to take notes next time I read it, especially if I am headed to Colorado or the surrounding area.

If you are looking for a good book or two to get you through until the season opener, I would suggest you read one or both of these. I am happy I did.

4 Responses to “Some Required Reading – A.K. Best and John Gierach”

  1. Steve Culton March 18, 2013 at 9:16 AM #

    There was a time when I was younger that I devoured fishing books. Decades went by with little to no fishing reading. The last few years, we’re getting back on track.

    • hydroflynamic March 18, 2013 at 9:20 AM #

      Hey Steve. Do you you have any recommendations? I am especially interested in some of the older books, or authors that may not be in print.

  2. Louis Cahill March 18, 2013 at 10:05 PM #

    Thanks for the kind words Billy!

    • hydroflynamic March 19, 2013 at 8:41 AM #

      Thanks for doing the great work you and Kent do every day.

Leave a Reply

Paul Sellers' Blog

– A Lifestyle Woodworker –

thegrizzlybeard.wordpress.com/

this is your life. it is short. do what you love.

The TopWater Bite

Your Source For Everything About Top Water Fishing And More

The Ozark Fly Fisher Journal

The Online Journal of A Fly Shop & its Inhabitants on the White River, AR

Steve Galea Outdoors

My view from the Haliburton Highlands.

montanaflygirl

The fishing and life adventures of Tracy Moore

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

the limp cobra

fishing through the lens

FrankenFly

Where fly tying comes to life!

