My first steelhead trip.

3 Apr

A friend of mine, Dave, lives in the county. The residents of this county are so proud of their county that they don’t call it by name, simply the county. So I’ll follow suit.

This particular county touches the Great Lakes, not unlike many other counties in Ontario.

We were originally planning to cast off of beaches and lighthouse points for the resident brown trout that come in this time of the year to hunt baitfish in the ‘warmer’ waters off the shore. During a scouting mission (which I took considerable grief for, ‘How come you need to go scouting? Can’t you do that when you are gone fishing?’…) we came upon some young street thugs. Now in the county, young street thugs are quite helpful. They told us of a secret stream on the other side of town that had quite the steelhead run in it. (This, my darling, this is why you go scouting.)

We checked it out and there was water and fish, all packed into a trickle that I could walk across in three steps.

Now neither Dave nor I had ever steelheaded before. I had caught one or two as a kid in Nova Scotia but probably more by accident, either on my part or on the part of fish. We had read the material. We needed weighted nymphs to get eggs down, streamers to annoy/aggravate and weird egg-headed leech thingys to confuse them into biting. (Note – I know it is called a purple marabou egg sucking leech.)

We struck off both Friday night and Saturday morning. We fished the main lake, the out flow from stream to lake, the stream and a little pool that held between ten and twenty fish. We threw everything in the box out there and bounced egg flies off of their foreheads. Now I know why fly fisherman target these steelhead. It is exhilarating and maddening.

You know the fish are there. We were watching fish emerge from the very water we were working. They just don’t want to eat. I even tried to annoy them into foolishness with a big sculpin/intruder type fly. No dice. (Note to Self – Tie a dice fly, that might work next time.)

When all was said and done we were both skunked, which I have heard is pretty normal.  But we were hoping for some divine intervention or at least some beginner’s luck.

3 Responses to “My first steelhead trip.”

  1. Steve Culton April 3, 2013 at 10:25 AM #

    It took me 40 hours of fishing time to land my first steelhead. I read somewhere that this is the norm. So last November I take my then 9-year-old steelheading. Little fink hooks and lands a 12-pound chroma in his first half-hour. Kids these days….

    • hydroflynamic April 3, 2013 at 10:27 AM #

      40 hours eh? Well I’ll start the ticker, 6 hours down, probably another 60 or so to go….

      • hydroflynamic April 3, 2013 at 10:28 AM #

        Actually I should bring my wife. Guaranteed she would catch one in about 20 mins. It’ll still take me 60 hours…..

Leave a Reply

Paul Sellers' Blog

A Lifestyle Woodworker

thegrizzlybeard.wordpress.com/

this is your life. it is short. do what you love.

The TopWater Bite

Your Source For Everything About Top Water Fishing And More

The Ozark Fly Fisher Journal

The Online Journal of A Fly Shop & its Inhabitants on the White River, AR

Steve Galea Outdoors

My view from the Haliburton Highlands.

montanaflygirl

The fishing and life adventures of Tracy Moore

SwittersB & Exploring

Photography, Fly fishing, Life, Visuals & Fun

FrankenFly

Where fly tying comes to life!

